Jaguar XK-Series – Research New & Used Jaguar XK Series Coupes |

10 Dec 2014 | Author: | Comments Off on Jaguar XK-Series – Research New & Used Jaguar XK Series Coupes |

Jaguar XK

Jaguar XK-Series

The Jaguar XK-Series includes three cars: the Jaguar XK, XK8, and XKR. These automobiles are high-performance grand tourer cars that have been produced by Jaguar since 1996.

Jaguar XK-Series Origins

The Jaguar XK-Series debuted at the Geneva Motor Show in March 1996. The first generation of the Jaguar XK-Series includes the Jaguar XK8, which replaced the popular XJS. It is powered by an eight-cylinder engine and holds the distinction of being the first car to use Jaguar’s AJ V-8 engine.

Jaguar has offered the car as both a convertible and a coupe since its inception.

The second generation of the Jaguar XK-Series began in 2006 with the commercial name XK and the in-house name X150. Jaguar also offers it as a two-door convertible, cabriolet, or coupe. The engine was carryover from the previous generation though.

About the Jaguar XK-Series

The Jaguar XK-Series is not only known as the latest series of sports cars from Jaguar, but also as the descendant of the company’s lineage dating back 50 years. When talking about the Jaguar XK-Series, a Jaguar enthusiast automatically pictures the XK cars from the 1940s and 1950s–the XK120, D-Type, and C-Type. However, the company approaches this series in a completely different way, by associating it with the popular E-Type which was manufactured in the 1960s and 1970s.

The Jaguar XK-Series cars have many styling cues that date back to the E-Type. Some of these cues include the oval hood opening, feline look, sensual haunches and curves, and inclusion of traditional round gauges at the center of the car’s dash. Since its introduction, the Jaguar XK-Series has remained more or less unchanged, except for the occasional limited edition.

Jaguar XK-Series Features

The Jaguar XK-Series is currently in its second generation, with the latest car being the 2012 Jaguar XK. Unveiled in 2011 at the New York Auto Show, it began production in 2012. Minor differences can be found between the 2010 model Jaguar XK and the 2012 model in terms of the bumper.

The 2012 model retains the same 5.0-liter V-8 engine that the 2010 model introduced. The naturally aspirated version is fitted onto the Jaguar XK, while the supercharged version is fitted onto the Jaguar XKR. There are also some small changes in the chassis of the car with the incorporation of a more lightweight design.

The sport version of the Jaguar XK, the XKR, was also updated to a new version in 2011. This new car, which is known as the Jaguar XKR-S, debuted at the Geneva Motor Show. It features a revised XKR engine that produced 542 bhp and a maximum torque of 680 lb-ft. According to Jaguar, the XKR is the fastest car the company produces, reaching a top speed of 186 mph.

The car can go from zero to 60 mph in 4.2 seconds.

Jaguar XK-Series Evolution

The first generation of the Jaguar XK-Series began in 1996 and continued for another decade until the launch of the second generation XK in 2006. This new generation of Jaguar XK-Series kicked off with the XK8, a grand tourer with the project code X100. Jaguar offers the car as a convertible or coupe, both of which are powered by the 4.0-liter, AJ V-8 engine.

In 1998, the sport version of the XK8 was added to the Jaguar XK-Series. The car, named XKR, features a supercharged V-8 engine. In 2003, the AJ V-8 engine of the Jaguar XK-Series was replaced by the 4.2-liter AJ34 engine.

The first generation of the Jaguar XK-Series shares a platform with the Aston Martin DB7.

The introduction of the XK8 and the Jaguar XK-Series signaled the start of a new direction for the company, which resulted in the debut of the S-Type and X-Type. The XK8 includes 17-inch alloy wheels as a standard, while 18-inch alloys are fitted onto the XKR. 20-inch wheels are also available as options for both cars in the Jaguar XK-Series.

The XK8 offers self-leveling xenon lamps and a navigation system as options, but the XKR has them as standard features. For both models, the Jaguar Adaptive Cruise Control is optional.

The first generation of the Jaguar XK-Series saw the sale of several limited editions as well, a trend that has moved forward to the second generation Jaguar XK-Series. The first limited edition car in the Jaguar XK-Series is the XKR Silverstone. One hundred and seven models of this car were launched as a celebration of Jaguar’s return to F1.

In 2002, the Jaguar XK-Series also released 500 XKR 100 cars to commemorate the centenary of Sir William Lyons, Jaguar’s founder. Other limited editions in the Jaguar XK-Series include 200 models of the XKR Portfolio, the XKR 4.2-S, and the XKR-R.

Tagged as:

Other articles of the category "Jaguar":

Our partners
Follow us
Contact us
Our contacts

Born in the USSR


About this site

For all questions about advertising, please contact listed on the site.

Car Catalog with specifications, pictures, ratings, reviews and discusssions about cars