Citroen DS3 Cabrio DSport long-term test review – MSN Cars UK

23 Feb 2015 | Author: | Comments Off on Citroen DS3 Cabrio DSport long-term test review – MSN Cars UK
Citroen DS3

Cabrio DSport test review

Citroen DS3 DSport

Report 19, 19 November double DS3 as replacement arrives

You may read about a little with the DS3 Cabrio a couple of back?

Well, a few days ago our DS3 Cabrio turned up while its went off for some surgery. So have we got?

It’s a 155hp 1.6-litre turbo, still the top spec D Sport trim and it’s still got a roof (it’s blue, for the but CJ insists on calling it purple).

The are, for one, it’s silver. I it looks really smart in colour combination, and so does my other, too – she’s allegedly on all matters concerning style and

The interior is blue and black a carbonfibre-effect fascia to the dashboard. it’s a bit jazzy for me, coming our white exterior and black car, it is a bit more vibrant and I quite like it.

I wouldn’t it, but it does show you just how and customisable the DS3 Cabrio is when it to style.

And although we’re you could create some configurations, this one is actually natty. Another hit for the DS3,

Except that the roof a bit more in this one and the ride is questionably firm – highlighted over winter-ravaged roads the back roads of Hertfordshire. smoother on motorways and A-roads.

the problem with radio and the fiddly DAB system afflicts car, too.

Even in it still feels fun to punt however. Using the hearty and relatively slick six-speeder. say a change is as good as a rest, and the new options on our short-term replacement me reinvigorated over the DS3 Cabrio.

By Carson

Motoring Research

18, 7 November 2013: our Citroen DS3 comes a cropper

I’ll this one short and sweet. Our DS3 has had a crash.

Thankfully, everyone was completely unhurt, which is than can be said for the poor

CJ had been borrowing the car for the past few and on his way to work this morning a van decided not to stop at a cross where my good colleague had of way.

As the commercial vehicle to creep past the give way CJ had nowhere to go, meaning the van’s end swiped all the way down the driver’s of the DS3.

Thankfully it didn’t the alloy wheels, but the door and wing are goners – and it looks it could have just the rear bumper, too.

panels are deformable for a reason to absorb energy in the event of a As CJ said at the time, the side protection did its job.

Apart the cosmetic damage, the Citroen was and CJ quite happily continued on his way to Testament to the car’s build It certainly can’t hurt to you’ll be able to carry on in an like this.

It’s swapped for another retractable-roofed DS3 in a few – I wonder what spec get and if it’ll have a purple too…?

By Sean Carson

Research

Report 17, 31 October frosty reception

On my way out to the car this even covered in grime, the DS3 proportions looked just

It might have helped the frosting on the paintwork made it extremely cool, the 3D taillights through the covering on the glass.

when things had warmed up and the began to bead on the body, from its former state, the DS3 looked good grubby.

In – and all due respect to Citroen and its designers – there’s something quite about this slightly looking piece of styling in grime that makes it that bit more manly.

it’s still got a purple according to CJ…

By Sean Carson

Research

Report 16, 30 October a different take on the DS3 Cabrio

of the proposal to run the DS3 Cabrio as a long through summer was to get my other involved in the reviews.

She rather fits the car’s main demographic, we reckon, so getting her and listening to her take on the Citroen was refreshing .

She’s been behind the for a significant portion of the car’s and has given me some decent on what she likes and dislikes the car. Here goes.

I the overall look of the car – it’s is nice and trendy but still upmarket. I have to agree her here.

I also quite the way it handles – it feels planted and like there’s some to it. It makes me feel secure I’m driving. Again, I concur, some aspects of the ride on surfaces are less than but that’s to sort of be expected in a car on firm springs and big wheels.

A is the same.

I like the roof and a cabriolet. You can slide it back and no roof, but it’s not horrendously at normal speeds, although it get a bit more blustery when on the motorway.

The seats are comfortable and easy to find a driving that suits me, and despite how it look from the outside, quite a bit of room in the back and also comfortable in the rear. She know, having spent 1,000 miles back demoted to the rear seat by my brother.

I don’t entirely with her on the driving position but maybe it’s just my I find I sit too high, meaning I to stamp down on the pedals, than push them from me. Personal choice though, I guess.

Sophie the stereo too, although with me about the poor radio reception and fiddly DAB adding, the Bluetooth is really though.

Now for the bad points…

Sophie the DS3 torque steers off the line and using a fair bit of throttle cornering. At first it gave me a because I didn’t know it was [coming from a diesel BMW 1 she wouldn’t…] but once you realise how to it, it isn’t too bad.

It’s a bit annoying, but I really do like the It’s nippy and means you feel anxious about out into traffic. It’s on country roads, too.

to the radio: I’ve never in a modern car where the radio is so poor. It costs a extra to buy the DAB and that’s not that great and can be to use.

I’m not keen on the armrest the handbrake either. I have to with her here. I find it a nice feature for gentle as it actually at the right height to you arm on.

However, in the down position it can changing into second, and sixth gear a bit restrictive.

No though, as it’s easy to flip up and out of the way if you’re going to be the ‘box on a country road.

By far the annoying aspect of the car for her, is the boot opening. It’s is very small and I sometimes it difficult to get a packed suitcase in.

For girls with a big handbag or bags – as well as those back and to to university – it could be a bit of an I know you can load it through the or driver’s door with the seats down, but it’s difficult and it could damage the of the car.

Her words about the bags, not mine…

On the whole for the both of us the positives outweigh the

By Sean Carson

Motoring

Report 15, 25 October 2013: and dislikes with the DS3 Cabrio

As I in my last report, there’s to like about the DS3 Cabrio, but always seems to be one little that spoils the overall

I’ve racked up a fair few in the Citroen now, with the showing over 9,500, so had a good chance to experience it’s like living the car.

Take the roof. actually really enjoyed it down, even if some say a corner-cutting convertible job by leaving the rails in place.

The canvas right the way back so you do get a big void which to let the outside in. To do this fitted the tiny boot lid of much annoyance on many an allowing the roof to be stowed the way back.

As the roof can do this, it means no back window wiper, as have nowhere to go once As a hatchback body style, means when it’s the rear glass gets dirty indeed, to the point you don’t have a hope in out of it. And it can’t be cleaned on the move,

It’s still better the visibility you get with the roof into its most extreme however, as the folds of canvas block your vision. And in position, it’s much blustery inside than back to the rear of the roof.

Citroen would have better fitting a proper for better practicality and only the convertible top to travel so far?

point of frustration is the entertainment The stereo is a thumper, with bass control and nice, projection of the treble.

It’s a when listening to the radio, that you get an annoying amount of – the reception is really rather

No matter, though – or so you’d – as our test car has the optional DAB radio. by a tiny remote and ‘tuned’ to preset six, it’s a bit to fathom.

There’s no screen to what station you’re listening to, so you have to point the in the direction of the dash and click to either scroll through the stations or scan for new ones. not an easy task, but at least it sound quality.

By Sean

Motoring Research

Report 14, 18 2013: autumn skies roof-down enjoyment

Before Big Storm’, this autumn going too badly, so much so the mild temperatures meant I was enjoying retracting the roof on the DS3 on my way home from work.

A of artistic indulgence: my drive from the office is along roads, lined with changing from the lush hue of summer to straw yellows, browns and burnt oranges of

Driving around at low speed the top down, even in single-figure seems appropriate.

Whack the heater right up, zip up your and slide back the canvas and actually rather pleasant, the air and bassy blare from the and exhaust pipe permeating the

I’ve even surprised as it’s no secret I’m not really a fan. I asked at the start you could convert a non-convertible and through the DS3 Cabrio method, so I have to say you can.

But, with the Citroen, joy always to be followed by mild frustration. I want to spoil my warm towards the DS3 Cabrio (maybe just the heater?), so more of in my next report…

By Sean

Motoring Research

Report 13, 10 2013: Citroen DS3 Cabrio its ancestor

I’ve held update over a bit, but a recent trip to the North for a special liaison with a car turned up something very indeed: the DS3 Cabrio met its ancestor.

My half’s father is the proud of an original Citroen DS21 – one of the best Citroen’s ever and a example of the French firm at its Driving the two back-to-back turned up interesting parallels and some differences, too – it was only q quick though, so sorry for the less professional photos!

First I get where Citroen is going its modern DS brand a bit more sampled the original. I understand the for quality, style, performance and a bit of quirkiness thrown in for good as it’s all present in the DS21.

the comparison did highlight is how Citroen’s has changed. OK, so the DS21 and DS3 are fundamentally cars aimed at different but Citroen’s former trademark and compliant ride – plain to who rides in the 21 – isn’t there on the

It’s firm, and this crank up the sportiness factor, roll and helping the little corner with a flatter but it is no where near as comfortable as the car.

Large alloy stiff springing and firm mean it can be a bit choppy over surfaces and crashy over pitted Tarmac. So much so the door glass rattles in its

I can’t blame for Citroen MINI in its quest for a ‘sporty’ however, as it’s what the market dictates to a degree. I wish the firm played to its a bit more and drew upon its history of making brilliant cars that were enough to drive, too.

All the it was a great experience to be around one of the ever DS vehicles (even if it a Decapotable – now that would been difficult to get hold of) and it through to today’s DS line.

By Carson

Motoring Research

12, 9 October 2013: cometh the cometh the car

Sometimes, things don’t work out the way you’ve – a bit of understatement for me following some bad news recently. But called action when I needed it the the Citroen was brilliant.

I needed to a fair chunk of luggage in and get moving on the double. Despite the boot open, it swallowed no problem.

Then I had to … it up the M1 and M6 – I disclose the speed, it obviously above 70mph – and the DS3 Cabrio was on for perfect.

Fast, comfortable and thanks to the cruise control, a bit noisy at higher speeds due to the sliding roof, it got my passengers and I with no problem. The mark of a car? Yes, in my book, and a welcome trait when you it most.

By Sean Carson

Research

Report 11, 18 September post-Frankfurt fallout with the DS3  

been a while since my report, with preparation for the Motor Show, the big German expo itself and a week’s to recover (it wasn’t that really…) pretty much for my September.

Still, what time I’ve spent in the I’ve enjoyed – and I’ve to go topless for a fair proportion of the

Absorbing the last rays of I’ve once again round to the Citroen’s sort of house approach to convertible I like how it means a bit less than in a MINI, for example, if some may say that it’s not a cabriolet.

Not much else to other than I’ve economy runs in the Citroen. I’m glad to as I’m enjoying giving it a bit of For a while I’ve been around under 2,500rpm to try and see how efficient you can make it.

Surprisingly is the but making the 1.6 four-pot turbo’s pop is much more fun. really rather bassy and has a bit of presence at idle. I like it.

By Carson

Motoring Research

10, 17 August 2013: dotting in the DS3  

The Citroen has had a lot of work to do recently, and its its now reading over 7,000. I say, I’m really enjoying it,

The engine still makes me to use it hard, and is great for road When the road clears and out in front of you, revving it out you discover a slight flat up-top, but for a twisty bit of Tarmac with overtaking slower the meaty torque band for swift progress, as we’ve stated.

Even CJ – who was initially a cold to the DS3 Cabrio – is warming to its proclaiming he really enjoyed it into work, as he walked the office door the other

Pressed into action as an morning and late night taxi as the MSN Cars launch went a bit crazy, the Citroen the line nicely between and sportiness.

Cruising round the M25 at the soft leather seats, control and the powerful, soothing make what can be tedious less so. Once off the ‘car and on the back roads home, quite nice to give the DS3 some stick as well.

done my fuel economy and found the Citroen’s trip read up to 49.6mpg (see with a cautious right But it’s more fun to flex ankle muscles, which is I’ll be doing more of the next few weeks. I’ll you posted.

By Sean Carson

Motoring

Report 9, 5 August 2013: fuel economy from the DS3

quotes fuel economy of combined for the 155hp 1.6 turbo in our car. As you can see from the picture our DS3 Cabrio is punching above its – according to the trip computer, at

The digital display showed but at one point was reading as high as on a leisurely 70mph cruise the M1. You’ll have to trust us as it’s not exactly prudent mind legal) to snap a with your mobile driving.

Even an analysis of the figures show that the is hovering around the 42.3mpg making the trip computer a bit but it’s still a decent

It’s loosened up nicely – nearly 6,000 miles on the now, it’s more than when I first got it, more than doubled the in two and a half months.

Even you use all of the torque and explore the revs it remains relatively frugal – not seen under 30mpg

By Sean Carson

Motoring

Report 8, 30 July 2013: ups and

I reported on Sophie’s impressions of the DS3 a few weeks back. There many positive points she but with a bit more time at the those ups have been by a few downs.

While the DS3 Cabrio was to ferry a bride around on her weekend – who loved the car and its ‘wedding appearance, incidentally – a schlep to and back from Hertfordshire, with some country driving highlighted some for Sophie.

Report 7, 15 2013: open air in the sun with the DS3

The brilliant weather we’ve had so far in meant on a recent trip to for the 2013 Festival of Speed, we open the DS3 Cabrio up – in more than one.

It was nice to get the down. As I’ve previously I’d always usually rather the fixed roof option of a car both tin top and soft top variants. But the DS3 is winning me over, to a degree.

I in my previous bulletin that my other is fond of it, and at a gentle down the sleepy lanes of it really did work.

It does a little floppy when a bit harder, but it’s not an out and out sports so I’ll forgive the DS3 Cabrio its there – even if I do think a Convertible may have handled the roads a bit better.

I’ve it before, but what I do like is the It’s very strong in the mid with 177lb ft of torque from as low as 1,400rpm and sustained a broad band. It means you have to stir the gearbox all frequently to make decent like you might in some less powerful small

By Sean Carson

Motoring

Report 6, 28 June 2013: a perspective on the DS3 Cabrio

Part of the for running the DS3 Cabrio was to get my other Sophie, involved in driving the She sits pretty much band in the middle of the car’s market and has had a decent amount of driving the DS3 now. Her thoughts:

She the overall looks. I believe but not too showy were her exact I have to agree with I must say.

I’m not a fan of the blingy wing mirrors or door strips, but the bright paint, short overhangs to chunky alloy wheels and the blue (purple…) roof are all on me.

The latter point is something a fan of, too. She likes the fact you can put the down, but having the doors in and a decent wind deflector you don’t get buffeted unduly cruising around at low to medium

She also likes the stereo – and I agree with her. The and depth of sound emitted the hi-fi is brilliant, even if the reception is poor.

By Sean

Motoring Research

Report 5, 19 2013: it was all going so well for the

After singing its praises I came to start the Citroen and was met by an temperature too high’ warning Somewhat confusing, given the car been started for a few days.

A C1 car and a few days later on the DS3 was back on the a faulty engine temperature the culprit. We can’t fault the we received, if the initial instructions on we could or couldn’t drive the car crystal clear. As part of the warranty, it was fixed free of

By Sean Carson

Motoring

Report 4, 17 June 2013: DS3 performance impresses

I’ve in and out of test cars for a few weeks so haven’t had any consistent time the wheel of the Cabrio – much to the of my other half. She’s taken with the crisp the flexibility afforded by the roof don’t have to stop to or lower it, so it’s great for the weather turns bad) and the brawny feeling engine.

a 155hp 1.6-litre turbocharged unit. While the power is healthy, it’s actually the fat ft of torque produced from that makes the DS3 feel

Another benefit of the sliding – than fully retractable – is that the car isn’t as heavy as a convertible might be, as not so much strengthening is required. The DS3 Cabrio weighs in at 1,250kg, whereas a sized MINI Cooper S tips the scales at a more 1,305kg.

Performance is good, the 0-62mph sprint dispatched in 7.4 It’s best to short though, and use the slick six-speed gearbox to drop the revs into the heart of the torque once more.

It sounds too. It’s surprisingly and bassy at idle, and as the revs there’s a nice burble the exhaust and a woosh from the Warm it up and you might hear a pop from the exhaust as well.

You character and an agreeable noise in an top car – if you’re going to get the roof you don’t really want a drone or a pained four-cylinder cry. The 1.6 turbo here the criteria nicely.

The chassis is a for the engine. You can feel a slight bit of as you push the Citroen further – and in cases this means runs out earlier than – but in others, it means the car feels stable and compliant given on stiffer springs and larger

I’m quite impressed with how far this roofless DS3 can go, and the breadth of the abilities, returning 44.4mpg on a run and overtaking performance more adequate for the public road.

By Carson

Motoring Research

3, 12 June 2013: open air in the DS3 Cabrio DSport

There are superficial aspects to the DS3’s but on the whole I’m really starting to the looks of the car. CJ reckons the is purple, not blue, but whatever your eye says it is, it contrasts with the pearl white and the chunky black alloys.

Sophie and I have had the opportunity to get the wheel and feel some whooshing through the DS3 Cabrio’s – not too much though, as the deployable deflector mounted atop the does a decent job of reducing inside at town speeds. It can get a bit blowy on the motorway, though.

I the retractable roof, too. One of my gripes with soft is the airiness when the roof is I like the presence of roof and pillars – it makes me feel secure.

With the DS3 Cabrio you get that.

might say it’s a cheap way of a convertible, but I personally think it and it suits my tastes better a full-on drop-top. It seems to some of the hatchback’s stiffness as You can hear things shaking and a touch when cornering but it’s not the wobble-fest I thought it have been.

In fact, it on quite valiantly in the bends, means the chassis is a nice for the punchy engine. We explored the saving abilities of the DS3 on the run down and to Le Mans, now we’re starting to the Citroen to properly test its So far, it’s showing a turn of speed.

By Sean

Motoring Research

Report 2, 8 2013: Citroen DS3 Cabrio off to Le Mans

A week after we the Citroen up, the kind folks at the office in Coventry had arranged for me to it abroad.

My brother and I are big endurance fans, so we made the trip to Le for the test day – it amounted to a quick down to a rainy, windswept town in northern France to some cars in soaking wet While the weekend might been a touch disappointing, the car

I had some reservations about the aperture (I still do…) and I would actually be able to my luggage in there. Thankfully, it all in without an issue, as the space the boot lid is actually rather

Be warned though, anything than a weekend bag will to go in via the foldable rear seats – a box of corn flakes has to be turned on its

It proved efficient on the way down, around 45mpg on the trip which worked out at just 40mpg after the real-world The majority of time was spent on the cruising at 80mph, but even some more spirited around the public roads of Le which make up 75% of the track it was impressive stuff from the

Unfortunately, constant drizzle there was no opportunity to get the roof but with some better on the horizon in June, I was hoping to some open air driving.

By Carson

Motoring Research

1, 1 June 2013: Citroen DS3 DSport arrival

While the arrival to our fleet turned up one early. there’s another to the MSN Cars’ car park that’s with us for a similar length of now.

It’s a Citroen DS3 in top spec DSport trim, a 155hp 1.6-litre turbocharged engine, and – to put it bluntly running the car because I don’t convertibles. That sounds but bear with me.

Really, my other is playing a big part in our test, too. You she, squarely in the market for the DS3 Cabrio: young, professional and with disposable income to spend on a vehicle. So we want to explore her and opinions on the car, too.

As for my of love for soft tops, I to see if I you can convert someone into a fan. First impressions you can.

We picked the car up from Hatfield, and a thorough handover the dealer meant we were versed in how everything operated. chinks of sunlight trying to through the early June it was as good an excuse as any to get the roof as well.

On the whole, first were good and I liked it. are many positives and negatives – we’ll cover over the few instalments – but the basics are that the DS3 is a cool-looking, relatively quick car with some nicely details.

Bodes well for the sixth months, then…

By Carson

Motoring Research

to know

Pros: Strong appealing soundtrack, easy ability, roof-down appeal, great stereo

Citroen DS3
Citroen DS3
Citroen DS3
Citroen DS3
Citroen DS3
Citroen DS3
Tagged as:

Other articles of the category "Citroen":

Twitter-news
Our partners
Follow us
Contact us
Our contacts

dima911@gmail.com

Born in the USSR

423360519

About this site

For all questions about advertising, please contact listed on the site.


Car Catalog with specifications, pictures, ratings, reviews and discusssions about cars